Life+News The Official News Portal of Independent Television Network Ltd

U.S. ‘presidential test alert’ sets American phones to buzzing

ITN News Editor
By ITN News Editor October 4, 2018 12:40

U.S. ‘presidential test alert’ sets American phones to buzzing

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) sent an alert aimed at tens of millions of mobile phones to test a previously unused presidential alert system to warn the public in the event of a national emergency.The test message was originally scheduled for September but pushed back to 2:18 p.m. EDT (1818 GMT) on Wednesday with phones making a loud tone and a special vibration. The message read: “THIS IS A TEST of the National Wireless Emergency Alert System. No action is needed.” A separate alert on television and radios was issued at 2:20 p.m. EDT (1820 GMT).

Federal officials said Trump was not personally involved in sending the alert, which would be sent in the event of a pending missile attack or other national emergency. U.S. cellphone users are not able opt out of presidential alerts.In New York City’s Times Square, reactions to the alert was mixed.Ramon Atwater, said “Do I think it was necessary? Absolutely not. Do I think a lot of the things that are going on with the… president is necessary? No.

ITN News Editor
By ITN News Editor October 4, 2018 12:40
Write a comment

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment
View comments

Write a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*

BUSINESS NEWS- VIEW ALL

SPORTS NEWS- VIEW ALL

ENTERTAINMENT- VIEW ALL